Alphabet of Jazz Masters: C – Rosemary Clooney

Rosemary Clooney

May 23, 1928 – June 29, 2002

Vocalist, Actor

Favorite Song: “Tenderly

In college, while working as a DJ at KNTU (the jazz station at the University of North Texas), I fell in love with Rosemary Clooney’s voice and phrasing. For years, she was my favorite female vocalist and I was lucky to have seen her a few times at the Hollywood Bowl. I adored her and wanted so badly to paint her…however, I failed…repeatedly. First, I tried blind contour. She looked a strange version of Dinah Shore. Tried again…even worse. So, I thought about “Tenderly,” and my favorite line, “the shore was kissed by sea and mist, tenderly” and thought, “Hey! I’ll do Clooney as a mermaid!” So…this is the best I could do. Sorry Rosemary!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

