Derrida Deconstruction Dissemination “Dab!”

One of my favorite classes in college was Major Critical Theories, which focused on the writings of many great thinkers from Socrates to Kant to Butler. Derrida made my head dizzy. We had to memorize two passages.  It still hurts to look at this one:

“A text is not a text unless it hides from the first comer, from the first glance, the law of its composition and the rules of its game. A text remains, moreover, forever imperceptible. Its laws and rules are not, however, harbored in the inaccessibility of a secret; it is simply that they can never be booked, in the present, into anything that could rigorously be called a perception.”

 

I prefer this sweet little piece of brain taffy:

“To pretend, I actually do the thing: I have therefore only pretended to pretend.”

Derrida Deconstructs Daylilies
“derrida deconstructing daylilies” by nan lehnert

Nan Lehnert: Abstract Flora, Fauna, and Faces

5 thoughts on “Derrida Deconstruction Dissemination “Dab!”

  1. The few times I’ve read Derrida he’s driven me positively barmy. I do think under the obscure dense text he probably has something very important to say, but I’ve never got it myself and sadly no ones been able to explain it to me without confusing me further!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha HA! I totally get you! Sometimes I think, “Wow, Derrida dude! I totally get it!” Other times, I think he’s pulling the biggest joke. Still, I admire the fact that he makes me think. Most of his theory seems rubbish…and most of my friends agree! 😉 However, his writing on “difference” leaves my jaw gaping at his genius and ability to articulate a thought or idea.

      Like

Leave a Reply

